Sunday, November 8, 2009

FEMA Independence Act of 2009 (HR 1174)


(The) FEMA Independence Act of 2009 re-establishes the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as a cabinet-level independent establishment in the executive branch.

Requires FEMA to be headed by an Administrator appointed by the President.

Establishes as FEMA's primary mission to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the nation from hazards by leading and supporting the nation in a comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation.

Prescribes the Administrator's responsibilities.

Requires each Regional Administrator to establish a Regional Advisory Council.

Requires FEMA to have an Office of the Inspector General.

Includes among FEMA functions:

    (1) those functions it had on January 1, 2009, including continuity of operations and government programs; and

    (2) functions relating to FEMA under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. Directs the Administrator to continue to maintain a National Advisory Council.

Requires the National Integration Center to ensure that the National Response Plan provides for a clear chain of command to lead and coordinate the federal response to any hazard.

Abolishes the position of Principal Federal Official.

Requires the Administrator to:

    (1) continue to implement a memorandum of understanding with the administrators of the Emergency Management Assistance Compact, state, local, and tribal governments, and organizations that represent emergency response providers to collaborate on developing standards for deployment capabilities, including for credentialing and typing; and

    2) appoint a Disability Coordinator.

Complete details of bill at


No comments: